Menu Close

Tito Santiago is the 2014 Spirit of Cycling Award Winner

First presented in 2005, the Spirit of Cycling award is presented each year to a Florida Freewheelers member who displays extraordinary enthusiasm for our sport and the club.

Some of the past recipients have been club members who were with the club since it was formed in the 70’s, some are longtime members that have consistently supported the club through the years by volunteering frequently to lead rides and help with events, while others are recent members that have enthusiastically brought something new to the club. Each recipient has a brick with their name added to the Spirit of Cycling area in the Path of Life at Chapin Station on the West Orange Trail. 

Tito Santiago has long been an ambassador and great volunteer for our club. From having a ride named after him to having a Safari Sag stop creation named after him Tito always brings a smile to cycling. Check out Tito at work during the 2014 Safari about 30 seconds into thisvideo. His Tito’s Trails Ride and B3 Breakfast Ride have long been mainstays of the east side cycling group. Tito doesn’t have enough fingers and toes to count the number of times he’s gotten up early to help out at Horrible Hundred registration or to head out to a Safari Sag stop to ready those trays of legendary Titoreos. He is a deserving recipient of the 2014 Spirit of Cycling Award.


2005 – John Bartlett

2006 – Jack Elliott and Diane Blake

2007 – Bill Harmon

2008 – Julie Mills

2009 – Mike Orlovsky

2010 – Gilberto Ramirez

2011 – Harris Gilbert

2012 – Leslee Mitchell

2013 – Mike Gladwin

2014 – Tito Santiago


Be Sociable, Share!